The first column addresses resources. The second is a guide to the research process; in other words, it is a recommended route to tackle your research. The third deals with citations and annotations.
Library of Congress: Chronicling America"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."
American Academy of AchievementProvides biographies of high achievers in the arts, business, public service, science and exploration, sports, etc.
American Presidents: Life PortraitsThis Peabody Award winning series contains a complete video archive of all American presidents, plus additional resources
bio.Online resource searches more than 25,000 of the greatest lives--past and present.
Biography OnlineBiographies of Inspirational people, Actors, Artists, Entrepreneurs, Humanitarians, Writers, Military, Musicians, Poets, Politicians, Royalty, Scientists, Sports, Religious leaders, Women Who Changed the World, 100 Most Famous
Infoplease.com/PeopleSearch page contains data from the Columbia Encyclopedia, the Infoplease Dictionary, and Information Please Almanac
Thinkers 50Ranks the top 50 business thinkers of all time and includes biographical information.
Reread this part of the NHD manual to clarify how to convert your topic to a historical argument. Model your work after the example given and have a working thesis. It is still flexible and subject to change as you accumulate your research and develop your ideas.
Research is inquiry-driven. It is only as good as your questions are. Use this handout to learn to know what kinds of questions to ask when researching.
Build background knowledge by using general sources like encyclopedias (yes, even Wikipedia). Scan and note keywords to use in your primary resource searches.
Also, be sure to take careful notes (e.g. original paraphrasing except for exact phrasings for direct quotes. Note any arising questions, as well). Also, use a citation tool to keep track of all of your sources AS you research.
