Skip to Main Content

Online Resources for Academy of American Studies: Social Studies

Overview

There are several databases that are targeted for work in social studies. Use the links and widgets below to access these resources. No passwords are needed if you are using a computer on the school's network. If you need a password or assistance, please contact Ms. Koo.

Gale Primary Source Archives

CUNY has partnered with Gale/Cengage to provide all public schools in NYC with access to the following archive collections:

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection

Artemis Primary Sources

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

The Economist Historical Archive; 1843-2011

The Making of the Modern World

*SEARCH ALL ARCHIVES*

More Primary Sources

Digital Public Library of America
Library of Congress
NYPL Digital Collections
Brooklyn Library Digital Collections
Syracuse University's Special Collections Collection of rare printed and archival works.
New York Heritage Over 170 distinct digital collections on NY that include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, newspapers, books, etc.
Smithsonian Primary Sources for U.S. History

U.S. History

Early America Review An excellent source for 18th-century source material and other chronicles of colonial America by Varsity Tutors.
Colonial Williamsburg's Research & Education Covers colonial British America, the American Revolution, the early United States, American decorative arts and folk art, and the Restoration and continuing story of Colonial Williamsburg
Library of Congress American History

Considering Multiple Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more. Great for: Social Studies ELA Science Speech/Debate
All Sides

Making Connections Between the Past and Present

Bunk History Click on tiles of interesting historical writing pieces to access the content as well as to view the connections to "other material that intersects with it in a surprising, relevant way."
New American History

Interactive Tools to Explore History

Old NYC
New American History Interactive Map Investigate historical events using the U.S. map
New American History Dynamic Timelines Explore American history by era
American Panorama University of Richmond's interactive, historical atlas of the U.S.

USA Facts

USA Facts